In 2013, the members of the Southwest District Athletics Board initiated an award entitled Friend of Athletics Award.  The objective of the award is to honor those individuals who have given much to their local school athletic programs.  Nominations are taken annually during the months of December.  School personnel can nominate, and the board chooses recipients.  Criteria is that the nominee must have given twenty-five (25) or more years of service.  Since 2013 fifty-five (55) individuals have been honored.  This year we honor twelve individuals.  These individuals have demonstrated what volunteerism is all about.  They know that talk is cheap, but people can be measured by their works.  Congratulations to our recipients!

Not Available

Mr. Dave Askins

Mr. Bill Baumann

Mrs. Betty Berkshire

Mr. Jim Miller

Mr. Askins was nominated by Mr. Scott Broerman, Athletic Administrator, Brookville High School.  Mr. Askins started walking the chains up and down the football sidelines in 1979.  He has kept the clock in wrestling since 1975, and, when time permits, he has kept the clock at middle school basketball games.

Mr. Baumann was nominated by Mr. Craig Ulland, Athletic Administrator, Colerain High School.  He has been the timer or announcer at football and basketball games since 1961.  He has also worked in the same positions for soccer and track since 1985.


Mrs. Berkshire was nominated by Mr. Craig Eier, Athletic Administrator, Tecumseh High School.  If you have ever bought a concession at Tecumseh High School, Mrs. Berkshire either ordered the concession, prepared it, or served it.  She has been a fixture in the concession stand since 1968.

Mr. Miller was nominated by Mr. Bobby Childs, Athletic Administrator, Middletown Christian High School.  He has been either the official scorer or timer for both girls' and boys' basketball games since 1983.  He shares that he has seen 1,850 games.  He also serves as the President of the Middletown Christian Athletic Booster's Club.

Mr. Dave Krebs

Mr. Gene Morris

Mr. Bob Pugh

Mr. Jim Pugh

Mr. Krebs was nominated by Athletic Administrator, Mr. Michael Coleman, Bishop Fenwick High School.  Mr. Krebs has been a valuable member of the Fenwick community.  He has been a member of the principal's academic advisory committee, served on principal search committees, served on the Athletic Booster's Board, and worked closely in acclimating six new athletic administrators.


Mr. Morris was nominated by Mr. Brian Sprada, Athletic Administrator, Arcanum High School.  Mr. Morris has announced or kept the clock at football and boys' basketball since 1990.  In 1997 he took on the same roles in girls' basketball.  In addition, for the last five years, he has volunteered to keep the book for the softball team at Franklin Monroe High School.  This enables him to follow his granddaugther, a member of the softball team.

Mr. Pugh was nominated by Mr. Tom Bean, Athletic Administrator, Bellbrook High School.  Mr. Pugh saw his first girls' basketball game in 1976.  He has compiled all girls' basketball records since 1975.  Despite two strokes, he keeps the stats for all Varsity girl's basketball games.  He spotted for football games until his health would not allow..


Mr. Pugh was nominated by Athletic Administrator Tom Bean, Bellbrook High School.  Mr. Pugh has run the scoreboard at football games and girl's basketball games, keeps the score book at away games, and runs the scoreboard at volleyball games.  Early in his volunteerism, he serves as the equipment manager in football.



Ms. Betty Roller

Ms. Jill Roller

Mr. Joe Steele

Mr. Jerry Valentine

Ms. Roller was nominated by Athletic Administrator Craig Eier, Tecumseh High School.  In 1968, the school needed someone to take over the concession stand, and, with help of family and friends, Betty still mans the concession stand today.  She has also been a representative of Tecumseh High School while working the concession stand at Wright State and earning $100,000.00 for the athletes at Tecumseh High School.

Ms. Roller was nominated by Athletic Administrator Craig Eier, Tecumseh High School.  Ms. Roller's first introduction to the concession stand was when she was three years old.  Her parents, who worked the stand, took her with them.  Some fifty years later she still works in the stand with major responsibilities of ordering supplies and lining up workers.


Mr. Steele was nominated by Mr. Scott Wake, Athletic Administrator, Goshen High School.  Mr. Steele has worked on the chain gang since 1976.  He has spent countless hours coaching young boys and girls, preparing them for high school.  He shares that he has worked with six athletic directors over the years.


Mr. Valentine was nominated by Mr. Craig Eier, Athletic Administrator, Tecumseh High School.  Mr. Valentine has served as the Booster Club President, has taken admission tickets, worked the concession stand, and filled other jobs requested by Mr. Eier.





Since the inception of this award in 2013, the following individuals have been honored as Friends of Athletics Recipients who have given twenty-five years or more of service to their high school:

2013 Recipients

Mr. Hansel Bailey, Felicity Franklin H.S.
Dr. Mike Barrow, Northmont High School
Mr. Shaun Brewer, Xenia High School
Mr. Jack Flaherty, Mason High School
Mr. Jim Neu, Western Brown High School
Ms. Jane Koykendall, Madeira High School
Mr. Don Skelton, Centerville High School
Mr. Ben Wolfe, Covington High School


2014 Recipients

Mr. Dave Ashby, Dayton City Schools
Mr. John Birkhimer, Urbana High School
Mr. Bill Booker, Greenville High School
Mr. Larry Fuller, LaSalle High School
Mr. Harold Grice, Mason High School
Mr. Gerald Gunning, Turpin High School
Mr. Paul Harper, Northmont High School
Mr. Dave Hawkins, New Richmond H.S.
Mr. Frank Long, Fenwick High School
Mr. Lowell Petry, Brookville High School
Mr. Joe Scherrer, Madeira High School

2015 Recipients
Mr. John Borchers, Tippecanoe H.S.
Mr. Randy Conover, Northeastern H.S.
Mr. Roger Hoover, Brookville High School
Mr. Gary Rinehart, Wilmington High School
Mr. Ralph Singinger, Georgetown H.S.
Mr. Earl Smith, Eaton High School



2016 Recipients
Mr. Al Evans, Kenton Ridge High School
Mr. Rick Little, East Clinton High School
Mr. Marv Mason, Brookville High School
Mr. Jeff McCulla, Graham High School
Ms. Arlene Poppe, Mount Healthy H.S.
Mr. Ed Strelau, Madeira High School
Mrs. Bev Strelau, Madeira High School
Mr. Fred Stemmler, Mason High School
Mr. Virgil Studebaker, Tecumseh H.S.
Mr. Randy Winkler, Carlisle High School

2017 Recipients

Mr. Guy Bainum, Williamsburg High School
Mr. Robert "Bo" Bemmes, Reading HS
Mr. Rick Bemmes, Reading High School
Mr. Steve Berryhill, Bellbrook High School
Mr. Joe Huff, Ripley-Union Lewis HS
Mr. Jim Leathlety, Tecumseh High School
Mr. Tom Leeds, Monroe High School
Ms. Joan Martin, Reading High School
Mr. Mike Melvin, Urbana High School
Mr. Richard Morgan, Reading High School
Mr. Mark Richardson, Brookville High School
Mr. Wayne Russell, Mechanicsburg HS
Ms. Debbie Simpson, Mason High School
Mr. John Slusher, Reading High School
Mr. John Smith, Mechanicsburg HS
Mr. Chas Veddern, Reading High School
Mr. Tom Weaver, National Trail HS
Mr. Bill Westfall, Mechanicsburg HS
Mr. Jim  Westfall, Mechanicsburg HS
Judge Roger Wilson, Urbana High School
2018 Recipients

Mr. Dave Askins, Brookville High School
Mr. Bill Baumann, Colerain High School
Ms. Betty Berkshire, Tecumseh HS
Mr. Jim Miller, Middletown Christian HS
Mr. Dave Krebs, Bishop Fenwick HS
Mr. Gene Morris, Arcanum High School
Mr. Bob Pugh, Bellbrook High School
Mr. Jim Pugh, Bellbrook High School
Ms. Betty Roller, Tecumseh High School
Ms. Jill Roller, Tecumseh High School
Mr. Joe Steele, Goshen High School
Mr. Jerry Valentine, Tecumseh HS